Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Show All Answers
For more information please contact the Assessor at 763-689-2752.
Taxing jurisdictions such as the county, schools, cities, and townships, adopt their budget after public hearings.
From these budgets the County Auditor determines the tax levy, which is used to calculate the rate of taxation required to raise the money budgeted. The taxes you pay are proportionate to the value and classification of your property compared to other properties in your taxing district.
The Assessor’s responsibility is with market value and classification, not taxes.
The Assessor does not:
Market value is the price a willing, knowledgeable buyer would pay for your property if it were offered for sale on the open market. The assessor does not create this value, but instead interprets what is happening in the marketplace. Values change with economic conditions as well as changes to the property.For more information please contact the Assessor at 763-689-2752.
Classification is a definition of how the property is used, determined by its ownership and use. They describe the primary use of a property, and affect the amount of property tax paid.
By state law, various classes of property are taxed at different rates. For example, two neighboring homes of equal value will be taxed at different rates if one is homestead and one is a non-homestead property. Class rates are created and defined by the Minnesota State Legislature. New homeowners should contact their assessor to apply for the preferential homestead classification.
After meeting with your assessor to discuss your concerns there are three levels of appeal available. These must be completed in order, unless you choose to go directly to the Regular Division of Minnesota Tax Court.
The assessor who values and classifies your property should be your first contact if you have questions or want more information. If you are not sure who your assessor is, call the Isanti County Assessor’s office at 763-689-2752.
This program, administered by the Department of Revenue, provides for two types of refunds.
Applications are due by August 15 to the Minnesota Department of Revenue.
This program allows people 65 years of age or older, whose household incomes are $60,000 or less, to defer a portion of their homestead property taxes. The deferred taxes accrue as a lien on the property and are due within 90 days after the property is sold, transferred, or no longer qualifies as a homestead.
Applications are due by August 1 to the Minnesota Department of Revenue.
This program provides for an income tax credit on seasonal properties where the property taxes have increased more than 10% and the amount of the increase is $100 or more. The credit equals 75% of the first $300 of tax increase in excess of 10%. Minnesota property owners may claim this credit on their income tax return in the year after the property tax was paid.
Homestead property owners who are legally blind, permanently and totally disabled, or paraplegic veteran's exclusion are eligible for a reduced tax rate on a portion of the value of their property. In some instances, there are income requirements that must be met to qualify.
Contact your assessor for more information.
Homestead and non-homestead property may be eligible under this program for a maximum of 12 months of property tax credit where at least 50% of the structure(s) has been accidentally destroyed by fire or natural disaster. The credit is for the full calendar months that the property is not usable. Property owners should notify their assessor when the disaster occurs and then apply for the credit at the time they begin reuse of the property in Isanti County.
The 1997 Legislature defined agricultural property as 10 acres actively farmed and products produced to be sold. The 10 acres can be tillable, pasture, or a combination of both.
If 10 acres or more are enrolled in a government agricultural program, they may also qualify. Examples of programs are CRP and RIM.
The Legislature intended the agricultural classification for farmers. Farmers annually put themselves at risk financially by investing in a crop they put in the ground or in livestock they raise to be sold later. The class was not intended for people who engage in agricultural activity as a hobby and not as their main source of family income.
Please make sure you have all the proper documents with you when you apply for a REAL ID/DL.Specific Documents Requirements
No, any reinstatement fee must be paid at a drivers license exam station, or online at the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website.
No, the Isanti County License Center does not offer any testing, you would need to go to a drivers license exam station. Please visit the Minnesota Department of Public Safety website to locate the closest exam station.
No. Vehicles tabs, title transfers, boat licenses, etc. are done at Department of Motor Vehicles locations. The Deputy Registrar in Cambridge is the closest location to our office:Cambridge Deputy Registrar Office225 South Ashland St SCambridge, MN 55008
You can visit the Minnesota Department of Public Safety's website for more License forms and Information.
Please view and submit the following form:
Please view the following links for any additional information regarding Class D Instruction Permits:
There are currently no tax forfeited properties available.
To be added to the Tax Forfeit Sale mailing list, you can click on the link below. You will be contacted when a sale date has been set. The Isanti County web site will also be updated with information of all properties for sale.
Tax Forfeiture Mailing List
For more information regarding the terms and conditions of the sale, click on Bidding Terms.
Any successful bidder who does not complete his or her sale transaction for a property, will forfeit his or her earnest money and the subject parcel will be offered for sale at the next available auction.
The Isanti County Auditor-Treasurer office will apply for a State Deed after the payment is received in full. Once we receive the State Deed, we will record it with the Isanti County Recorder and send you the original document.
Previous owners have had the opportunity to request to repurchase the property. Once the property is sold or conveyed, the privilege of repurchasing automatically ends at the time of sale or conveyance. If the prior owner is the successful bidder of the property at the sale, the purchase price must be the greater of the sum of all taxes, special assessments, penalties, interest, and costs due at the time of forfeiture plus any special assessments for improvements certified as of the date of sale, or 2) the successful bid price. [MN Statute 282.01, Subd. 7]
All properties that are not sold at the public sale are placed on a list of available properties to purchase over the counter. These can be purchased by anyone offering to pay the basic sale price at 8:00 am the day after the sale. The price cannot be changed unless the parcel is reappraised, advertised and offered again at public auction. The same terms and conditions apply to these parcels. Additional information can be obtained from the Isanti County Auditor-Treasurer office or on the Isanti County website.
Please contact the Isanti County Auditor-Treasurer office at [email protected] or (763) 689-1644 with any questions or concerns.
Yes, for Isanti County to license you as a foster care provider, you must live in Isanti County. If you do not, you can check with the county that you do live in.
You do not have to live in a house. Apartments, mobile homes or condominiums can also be options.
You do not have to be married.
Yes, you can be a single parent.
You must be 18 years or older for adult foster care.
Yes, you may work outside your home.
There are a variety of different funding sources that pay for foster care depending upon the circumstances. The funding follows the client depending on their need for services/care.
A variety of medical and dental expenses may be provided by Medical Assistance or private insurance. A foster care provider is not responsible for client costs.
Yes, depending on the needs of the client. Bedrooms may be shared with consent of client, but each client needs their own bed.
Foster care varies in length, depending on the clients' preferences, circumstances, and needs.
Vulnerable Adults are age 18 or older, and either:
No. You may own or rent a home, apartment, condominium or trailer home. In addition, some premises may require a State Fire Marshal inspection. If you rent, the landlord's consent will be needed for the Fire Marshal inspection.
In order to be a licensed foster parent you must complete the following training:
Each year you are licensed, you will be required to complete 12 hours of annual training, which will include one hour of mental health training and one hour of Fetal Alcohol Syndrome training.
While it’s not required, experience working with children is always a benefit.
Children from infancy through age 17 are placed in family foster care. You are encouraged to request age, gender, LGTBQ, ethnicity, and duration of stay preferences. It would also be important for us to know if you are interested in providing care for children that are developmentally delayed or medically fragile.
The “average” stay in family foster care can range from three to nine months. Some placements can be much shorter or extended longer. Each child’s situation is different and determining the length of stay is difficult.
The majority of the time families will know where their children are. If this information would endanger the child or foster family, the placement location would not be disclosed.
This is a licensed foster home that would be open to adopting the children should the children not be able to return home.
Call Isanti County Family Services at 763-689-1711 to begin the process.
If you suspect a child is being abused or neglected, please call the Child Protection Social Worker on Intake at 763-689-1711. Should a worker be busy with another report, please leave your name so the worker can return your call. If you have concerns after 4:30 p.m. please contact the Isanti County Sheriff’s Department at 763-689-2141.
Suspected Child Abuse/Neglect Report Form (PDF)
For emergency situations always call 911.
The name of any reporter acting in good faith is confidential and cannot be released except by a Judge ordering the name to be revealed.
Voluntary reporters can report anonymously, however, it is helpful to have your identity and your relationship to the family in cases where we need clarification or have further questions.
Anyone can report a concern of child abuse or neglect. However, the state mandates that professionals in a child caring role must report.
There are a number of factors to consider. Find questions to ask yourself when making this decision on our Leaving Children Home Alone page.
Yes. You can contact the Child Protection Social Worker on Intake at 763-689-1711.
We have several locate tools for locating non-custodial parents. We have some automated interfaces that come through our computer system. We also have access to other websites that can help us.
Establishing paternity for children born outside of marriage gives children the same legal rights as children born to married parents. Children with legal fathers may have rights to benefits through their fathers such as:
Parents can voluntarily sign a Recognition of Parentage. Signing and properly filing the Recognition of Parentage form establishes the father and child relationship. If parents are not sure, they can have genetic testing done. Isanti County generally uses a DNA test done by swabbing the inside of the cheek to collect cells. The swabs are sent to an outside lab for testing. Another way to establish paternity is to have a court order adjudication.
Isanti County will establish an order for support if you don’t already have one. We gather information about both parties and draft a proposed order that is served on both parties. If either party objects to the proposal, they can request a hearing where a judge will make the determination. If the parties do not object to the county’s proposal, it will go to a judge for signature. After the judge signs the order, it gets filed with the Court Administrator’s office and sent to both parties.
Most orders for support will order payments to be made via income withholding. The county will send notice to the payer’s employer to withhold support and send it to the Minnesota Child Support Payment Center. If there is no employer, the payer is obligated to make the payments to the Minnesota Child Support Payment Center. The Minnesota Child Support Payment Center disburses the payments to the custodial parent.
You can get payment information by calling the Interactive Voice Response Line at 800-657-3512 outside the metro area, or 651-215-5630 in the metro area. You will need to know your MCI number and your personal identification number (PIN) to use the IVR Line. You can obtain those numbers from your local child support office. You can also access payment information through the Minnesota Child Support online system.
Mail your payment to the following address, so we can receive and process it as quickly as possible:
Minnesota Child Support Payment CenterP.O. Box 64326St. Paul, MN 55164-0326
You will need to write your participant ID or child support case number on the payment to be sure it is credited to your account.
Sign-up to make secure online payments from your United States checking or savings account.
To get started:
Contact your Child Support Officer for your participant ID and PIN number.
If the payer does not pay their child support obligation, we have several tools available to collect the support. We can do driver’s license suspension, occupational license suspension, recreational license suspension, intercept tax refunds, and contempt actions.
Either party can request a review of their court order at any time, if they feel the order is no longer reasonable. An order would be unreasonable if either party’s income changes, or the cost of medical/dental coverage changes, or child care costs have changed. To request a review, send in a written statement, stating the reasons you believe the order should be reviewed, to your local child support agency. You also have the option to request a modification through the courts. To make your own motion, you can obtain the documents from the Court Administrator’s Office or online at the Minnesota Courts website.
Most orders will indicate the effective date in the order, but if there is no language to say when it is effective, we will start the charging on the first of the month following the date the judge signed the order.
The County Attorney and the Child Support Office do not represent either party in court. They represent the interest of the County and State to obtain a fair and just court order.
If one of the parties resides in a different state, we can start an interstate action asking the other state to establish or enforce the court order.
All child support orders are required to have a cost of living adjustment (COLA) every two years. The COLA is based on the consumer price index. If you have a child support case open with us, our computer system is set up to calculate the increases every two years and are effective on May first of the year your order should have the COLA. If you are the payer and your income has not increased, you can request a motion to have the COLA stopped.
According to state law, anyone caring for children from more than one unrelated family must be licensed. Providing child care illegally is a misdemeanor.
Fee information can be found in Minnesota Statute 245A.10. Licensing fees may not exceed $50 initially and $100 at re-licensure. There are additional costs that may be associated with obtaining a family child care license. Examples of these costs may include but are not limited to:
Family child care providers are a private business owner. The Minnesota Department of Human Services provides information on their website regarding rules and regulations. Isanti County Family Services staff are available to assist applicants and providers with questions when needed.
Once licensed, family child care providers can expect unannounced visits from Isanti County as part of their license requirements. Licensing staff does not expect activities with children to stop because of the visit as they recognize caring for children is the provider's primary responsibility. The purpose of the visit is to monitor the success of the licensed family child care program.
There are many factors that affect the licensing process timelines. Plan on approximately 3 months before licensure is completed
Most providers start out with the ability to care for a total of 10 children at a time. Of those 10 children, there can be a maximum of six children under school age. Of those six children, there can be a combination of three infants and toddlers with no more than two infants at one time.
In Cambridge, the testing facility is located in the City Center Mall at 300 3rd Avenue NE (off of Buchanan Street). Testing days are Tuesday and Wednesday. For questions, please contact the testing facility at 763-689-7078. For information on other testing locations, please visit the Driver and Vehicle Services website.
Deputy Registrar225 S AshlandCambridge, MN 55008Phone: 763-689-1130
Hours of operation:
Burning permits may be obtained by contacting the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) at 763-689-7200, by visiting the DNR website, or by applying online.
Game and Fish Licenses can no longer be purchased at Isanti County Government Center. Please visit the Department of Natural Resources website for more information.
Passports may be obtained from the Auditor-Treasurer's Office:
555 18th Avenue SWMain Level, Room Number 1040Cambridge, MN 55008
Phone: 763-689-1644Fax: 763-689-8210
Call Fairgrounds Manager, at 763-689-2555. For more information, visit the Fairgrounds website.
Please contact the University of Minnesota Extension Office at 763-689-1810.
For information, access these documents:
(Cambridge, Weber, Stark, and Isanti trails)Contact Larry Puck at 763-444-9033.Interactive Snowmobile Trails Map
(Mystic trails)Contact David Horazuk at 763-389-5852.Interactive Snowmobile Trails Map
(Grandy/Bock trails)Contact Brian Sutton at 320-396-3724.Interactive Snowmobile Trails Map
Visit the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Snowmobiling page.
Marriage licenses can be obtained in the Auditor-Treasure’s office. The application process can be time consuming. Please arrive at the Auditor Treasurers office by 4 p.m. to assure adequate time.
To start the process, you must complete an eMarriage Application online at home or using a smartphone. We will print the application when you arrive to apply for the license. Both of the parties must appear in person to complete the application process. Please bring your valid Driver's License as identification.
The license is valid for a period of 6 months. You will be provided one certified copy of the certificate at no charge. Furthermore, the application fee is $115, however you may be able to qualify for a reduced marriage fee of $40. We take cash, check or card. There is a convenience fee for a card.
You can qualify for a reduced marriage fee if at the time you apply you provide an Educator's Statement. See the necessary qualifications for a Reduced Marriage Fee.
For an ordained person (both Minnesota residents and non-residents) to be authorized to perform marriage ceremonies in Minnesota, the person must:
To file your credentials you must complete a Certificate of Filing Form (PDF). Once completed, view details on filing.
If you are not sure where your marriage certificate is filed, you can search the state marriage licenses index by visiting the Minnesota Official Marriage System (MOMS) website. You can search by name, county and year. Copies of marriage certificates can only be purchased in the county where the licenses was filed. If your licenses is not in Isanti County we will not be able to issue you a certified copy.
You may request marriage records by mail or in person.
Isanti County marriage record range from approximately 1871 to present.
The price of a record is $9 per copy.
For more information please call the Public Health department at 763-689-4071.
Referrals can come from yourself, family, friends, health care, social workers, school, clergy, etc.
To make a referral, contact Public Health at 763-689-4071 during business hours.
Monday - Friday8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Payments are made from many different sources including:
Radon is a colorless, odorless, radioactive gas that seeps up from the earth. When inhaled, it gives off radioactive particles that can damage the cells that line the lung. Go to the Department of Health website for more information.
To get a Radon test kit from us, call 763-689-4071.
Call Isanti County Public Health at 763-689-8270 or go to East Central Breastfeeding Coalition website for more information.
Abstract title property is the most common form of title found in the United States. Abstract title is a system of recording evidence of real estate title. The history of real estate transactions is indexed by legal description and name. This includes transfers of ownership and any rights (i.e., mortgages, contracts, and liens) that persons other than the owner may have in the land.
Abstract documents are recorded based upon their compliance with recording statutes. Minnesota is a "race to notice" state. Upon recording, documents are issued a sequential document number and the date and time of the recording is noted upon the document. Prior to the enactment of the Torrens Act in 1901, all land was abstract land.
The Recorder office has a computer index which searches by grantor, grantee, document number, or legal description. A public terminal is available in our office for searches in this index. Our staff is available to give you a quick tutorial so that you may use these records quickly and efficiently. If you have the need to search this database often, it is also available on the internet on a subscription basis. If you would like more information on this service, please see the LandShark application.
Recording documents is our first priority. Requests for copies that emailed, mailed or faxed to our office are handled in the order they are received. Isanti County does not perform abstracting services or title searches. We recommended that you contact an independent title company for these services.
In accordance with Minnesota Statutes Section 481.02 and in the public interest, we refrain from giving legal advice and preparing documents. For your protection, we observe this policy always. We strongly urge you to consult with your real estate attorney if you require this service.
In addition, our office does not have abstractors or researchers available to the public. Any information provided is a courtesy for reference purposes and does not carry any warranties or fitness for particular use.
This is a free service to property owners provided by the county. You only need to sign up.
You will be contacted only when a record with your name is recorded on an official document or suspicious recorded activity is suspected. You can unsubscribe to the service at anytime.
When someone illegally uses your name on records related to your property for financial gain or acquisition of your assets.
Mortgage and real estate fraud does occur and is a growing crime in our society. Monitoring records on your property is one of the steps in prevention of this crime.
You must record your commission with your county of residence.
The same Notary Application Form (PDF) can be used to change your name on your Notary Commission. The new card would need to be registered with the same county in Minnesota in which you originally registered.
To register your Notary Commission with the county, you'll need the following items:
To register your Notary Commission by mail, please mail the following items:
Mail to:Isanti County Recorder555 18th Avenue SWCambridge, MN 55008
Parcels each contain a legal description, which is a recorded description of where the property is legally located. Parcels can be either platted or un-platted.
Once a document is recorded in Isanti County, the legal description that is assigned to the parcel will be used on future assessment and tax rolls. It will be reflected on the many notices sent to owners and taxpayers throughout the year.
Torrens title is a system of registration of land titles by District Court Order resulting in the creation of a Certificate of Title with all subsequent transactions affecting the property noted upon the certificate. The Certificate of Title is conclusive as to the state of title.
Upon the presentation of a document for filing in Torrens, the Certificate of Title is examined. All instruments presented for filing in the Torrens system are reviewed for compliance prior to acceptance. Upon filing, documents are issued a sequential document number and the date and time of the filing is noted upon the document.
The Recorder office has a full book tract index for all registered parcels. Torrens documents are also entered into a computer index that searches by grantor, grantee, document number or legal description. A public terminal is available in our office for searches in this index. Our staff is available to give you a quick tutorial so you may use these records quickly and efficiently. If you have the need to search this database often, it is also available on the internet on a subscription basis. If you would like more information on this service, please see the LandShark application.
Recording documents is our first priority. Requests for copies that are emailed, mailed or faxed to our office are handled in the order they are received. Isanti County does not perform abstracting services or title searches; however, we can prepare a Certificate of Condition of Registrar for a fee.
In accordance with Minnesota Statutes Section 481.02 and in the public interest, we refrain from giving legal advice and preparing documents. For your protection, we observe this policy always. We strongly urge you to consult with your real estate attorney if you require this service.
We are located at:
2440 Main Street SCambridge, MN 55008-9302
In the interest of public safety, the Isanti County Sheriff’s Office has adopted the following rules to hold an event on a lake in Isanti County.
Permits are free of charge and can be obtained by contacting Chris Caulk at 763-691-2408 or by email.
Contact your electric company. They have dispatchers on duty.
For more information, visit the Department of Natural Resources website.
Download a Request for Security Check Form (PDF) and send it to us before you leave town. Send your completed form to:
Isanti County Sheriff's DepartmentC/O Dispatch Center - Security Checks509 18th Avenue SWCambridge, MN 55008
For road conditions, call 800-542-0220 or visit the Minnesota Department of Transportation's 511 website. 511 helps commuters and travelers access information regarding weather-related road conditions, construction, and congestion, via the web, 24/7. You can also view live traffic camera views and access other information that may be of interest.
If the call is life threatening, dial 911; otherwise visit our Harassing Phone Calls page for information.
You should call 911 when you have an emergency or see a crime happening. For general inquiries you can call 763-689-2141.
Anytime you find yourself in a situation that requires an emergency response from a law enforcement agency, a fire department, or an ambulance service you should call 911. As a general rule, if you face a situation where you are trying to decide whether to dial 911 or not, dial 911. It is always better to be safe than risk the chance of not getting the help you need, when you need it.
If you have a situation that you need to report, but the incident is a past event and non-threatening (not in progress, suspects are unknown or not seen), i.e., theft of personal property, past criminal mischief/vandalism, a theft from an auto that occurred during the night, then you may want to contact the law enforcement agency to report the incident by calling in on the Isanti County Sheriff's Office administrative phone line at 763-689-2141.
Again, anytime you are unsure of when to dial 911, it is always better to dial 911 than risk not getting help when you need it.
When you dial 911, your call will be answered by an E-911 Dispatcher. The dispatcher will conduct an interview to determine the type of emergency service needed. Questions generally asked fall into key questions of who, what, where, when, and depending on the situation, why. It's important to listen to the dispatcher and answer the questions asked. The dispatcher must ask you specific questions in order to ensure you receive the kind of help needed.
It may seem that you are asked a lot of questions and that a lot of time has passed, however trained dispatchers will only ask questions that are necessary in getting you the proper help you need. This generally takes less than 30 to 45 seconds. Often times the dispatcher will start emergency response units and will return to ask the follow-up questions. The main objective is to remain calm and listen to the dispatcher's instructions - help is on the way.
Misdials are sometimes experienced on 911. Often many misdials are realized after the number is dialed and the caller will immediately disconnect the line. This is what is commonly referred to as a "911 hangup." If a connection was made, regardless if the line was not answered by the E911 operator, the Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) will still receive the call. It is very important to remain on the line, even if you realize you misdialed. If you disconnect the line, the E-911 operator must process the call as an unknown emergency, until otherwise determined.
The 911 and E911 Systems are both emergency phone systems, the only difference is that a basic 911 System only provides a direct point of contact to a public safety agency. An Enhanced 911 (E-911) System takes it a step further by providing the caller's address and telephone of where the call originated from. The Isanti County Sheriff's Office has an Enhanced 911 System (E911).
One of the most significant problems that emergency responders face is that the majority of homes do not have their current address displayed, or properly displayed, so that emergency responders can readily see them. We are fortunate to have a good addressing system in Isanti County. With our E-911 system, emergency responders may know what your address is, but locating a residence where the address is not prominently displayed can be difficult, take valuable time, and may have serious and tragic results in situations where seconds count.
Giving the E-911 dispatcher detailed directions is very helpful, but keep in mind that in some cases there are response units from different agencies and that they may be dispatched through different dispatch centers. In cases where a residence is not properly marked, having to repeat the directions multiple times to assist emergency response units in locating an address can delay the arrival of emergency response units. Fire numbers may help, but addresses are a more efficient, standardized way to locate your residence. Remember that fire numbers are no longer being issued to new residents in Isanti County and often times existing fire numbers have either been removed or are difficult to see or read.
Having your address displayed on both sides of your mailbox, at the end of your driveway, or on the house itself, in large easy to read numbers makes it easier for emergency response units to locate your residence. In the event that your mailbox is not near your residence, or in a location where multiple mailboxes are located, displaying your address in a location that identifies your residence (at the end of your driveway, or on the house itself) is extremely helpful in getting help to you or a loved one in an emergency.
The Minnesota Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) Board requires all newly-licensed Minnesota police officers to either have:
All peace officer candidates must then pass a state licensing exam and attend a minimum of 48 hours of continuing education every three years. Candidates with certain criminal convictions are barred from becoming peace officers in Minnesota. For more information on becoming a Minnesota peace officer, visit the Peace Officer Standards and Training Board website.
The Sheriff's Office does not enforce Family Court Orders for visitation. You must contact your attorney for assistance.
There are different forms of custody, such as Legal and Physical Custody. Visitation is not custody. While the Sheriff's Office does not enforce Family Court Orders for visitation, we understand that this can be a very difficult and emotional situation. An attorney may be able to help you, or you can contact the Sheriff's Office at 763-689-2141 if you would like the matter documented for you to bring to your attorney at a later time.
Yes, there is. In 2003 the Isanti County Board of Commissioners adopted an ordinance that regulates dogs in Isanti County. The ordinance includes provisions on kennel licenses, rabies vaccinations, control of dogs, enforcement of the ordinance, and more. This ordinance was adopted by the Board in an effort to "provide for the protection of dogs and also the health, safety, and general welfare of the citizens of Isanti County.
View a complete copy of the Dog Ordinance (PDF).
There is no law or ordinance against barking dogs. We recommend telling your neighbor about it. They may not be aware that it is barking and might help you out.
No, we do not pick up dogs unless they are causing a nuisance such as defecating, digging or damaging your yard or property and/or appears to be aggressive toward you or others, and the owner is not known. A deputy will be dispatched to your residence if you want the owners of the dog to be issued a citation. The deputy will only issue a citation or warning based upon your written statement of what happened. If the dog owner is not known, animal control will be called to pick up the dog.
The Isanti County Sheriff's Office is actively involved in investigation of these types of crimes, and works in close collaboration with the Financial Crimes Task Force. The Sheriff's Office also has an investigator dedicated to working on these types of crimes.
The jail is part of the Sheriff's Office building, which is located at:
509 18th Avenue SWCambridge, MN 55008-9302View a Map of Our Location
To get to the jail, enter the Sheriff's Office lobby area and go down the stairs on your right. You do not need to talk to the receptionist at the Sheriff's Office before you go down to the jail, as jail personnel will be able to help you once you get down the stairs.
The Isanti County Jail does allow visitors to come to the jail to see inmates during regular visiting hours. Visiting hours vary, depending on where the inmate is being housed in the jail. Here are the regular visiting hours for each of the jail housing units:)
Inmates are generally allowed regular use of the telephone, once they have completed the booking process. Under normal circumstances they can call out of the jail, although they will need to call collect or use a telephone calling card. You can also call a special number at the jail to leave a message for an inmate. Inmates will be able to check their messages on a regular basis. The number to call to leave a message for an inmate is 763-689-9004.
There are over 20 Neighborhood Watches throughout Isanti County. If you contact the Sheriff's Office, we can provide you with a booklet to help you get going. You can also visit the Stay Safe website for more information.
View the renewal process on our Renewal of Permit to Carry page.
Isanti County Sheriff's Office2440 Main Street SCambridge, MN 55008
Lobby drop box is open Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Find out by visiting our Data Practices Request page.
If you are over 18 years old and have at least one year of law enforcement schooling completed, you can contact Sheriff Chris Caulk to request a ride a long with a deputy sheriff. You can reach Sheriff Caulk by email or by calling 763-691-2408.
A new law was effective on August 1, 2000 (Minnesota Statutes, section 144.225, subdivision 7) which restricts the access to a certified birth or death certificate. You may request a certificate if:
You may come in person to the Isanti County Auditor-Treasurer Office. Office hours are Monday to Friday from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. You will need identification to show that you have a "Tangible Interest" in the certificate.
Birth records prior to 1935 are stored at the county level. If the birth occurred after 1935, the record is stored on the State of Minnesota computer system. Death records prior to 1997 are stored at the county level. If the death occurred after January 1, 1997, all records are stored on the State of Minnesota computer system.
If the birth or death occurred in a different county prior to these dates, please contact the county office where the event occurred.
The cost for certificates include: