The Isanti County Sheriff's Office issues handgun "permits to carry" for residents of Isanti County. All Isanti County residents who want to apply for a permit to carry a handgun must do so in person through the Isanti County Sheriff's Office.
- Apply in person
- Be at least 21 years old and a citizen or permanent resident of the United States
- Provide a government issued photo ID (driver's license, state photo identification card or valid passport with photo)
- Present evidence that they have received approved training in the safe use of a pistol within one year prior to the date of application per Minnesota statute 624.714, sub. 2a
- Submit a completed Permit to Carry application
- If something does not apply to you, please acknowledge with "NA." An incomplete application will be denied.
- Pay fee of $100 (cash or check), this is a non-refundable fee
We will conduct a series of background-related checks to assure you meet the eligibility requirements established by state law. Once those checks are successfully completed, a permit will be issued that is valid for five years and may be used to purchase a handgun statewide. In addition, applicants must not be prohibited by law from possessing a firearm. For additional information, visit the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Permit to Carry website.
If you have a question in reference to Gun Permits, please call 763-691-2480 or email Gun Permits. For information pertaining to handgun legislation, call the Office of the State of Minnesota Attorney General at 651-296-7575.