Who can request a copy of a Birth or Death Certificate... ?
A new law was effective on August 1, 2000 (Minnesota Statutes, section section 144.225, subdivision 7) which restricts the access to a certified birth or death certificate. You may request a certificate if:
- If you are the subject of the certificate;
- If you are the child, grandchild, spouse, parent, grandparent, legal custodian, or guardian of the subject;
- If you are a personal representative of the estate of the subject; or
- If you are the person who filed or a representative of the organization that filed the birth or death information with the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) or a local registrar.
- For additional information on Tangible Interest and who may obtain a Certificate, visit the State of Minnesota site.
You may come in person to the Isanti County Recorder's Office. Office hours are:
8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday.
You will need identification to show that you have a "Tangible Interest" in the certificate.
Click on: Birth Certificate or Death Certificate to print out an Adobe Acrobat certificate form.
If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, please click here to download a copy
You may also download forms from: State of Minnesota Forms and Information
Birth records prior to 1935 are stored at the county level. If the birth occurred after 1935, the record is stored on the State of Minnesota computer system.
Death records prior to 1997 are stored at the county level. If the death occurred after January 1, 1997, all records are stored on the State of Minnesota computer system.
If the birth or death occurred in a different county prior to these dates, please contact the county office where the event occurred.
|Certified Birth Record||$26.00|
|Additional copies purchased at the same time|| $19.00|
|Certified Death Record||$13.00|
|Additional copies purchased at the same time||$ 6.00|
Marriage licenses can be obtained from the Recorders Office. To apply for a marriage license, both of the parties must appear in person to complete the application or provide a notarized copy. Some of the required information includes birth dates, birthplaces, and social security numbers for both parties. There will be a 5-day waiting period and the license is valid for a period of 6 months. You will be provided one certified copy of the certificate at no charge.
You can qualify for a reduced marriage fee if at the time you apply you provide an Educator's Statement that has exactly the following wording and names of the bride and groom in the Educator's Statement are identical to the legal names of the bride and groom as they appear in the marriage license application. According to Minnesota Statutes Chapter 517.
- Fee for marriage application:
Reduced Marriage fee: $40.00
- (c) The marriage license fee for parties who have completed 12 hours of premarital education is $40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee, the parties must submit at the time of applying for the marriage license a signed, dated, and notarized statement from the person who provided the premarital education on their letterhead confirming that it was received. The premarital education must be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include the use of premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.
- (d) The statement from the person who provided the premarital education under paragraph (b) must be in the following form:
"I, ................(name of educator), confirm that ....................(names of both parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize marriages under Minnesota Statutes, Section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33."
- The Wedding Ceremony
- You may choose to have a marriage ceremony performed by anyone authorized by law to provide the service. In Minnesota, this includes judges and court administrators.
- Ministers of any religious denomination may also perform the marriage ceremony if they have filed a copy of their ministerial credentials with a Local Registrar in the state.
- The law requires that your marriage ceremony be witnessed by two people who are sixteen (16) years old or older.
- The person performing the marriage ceremony will prepare one certificate of marriage. The certificate will be filed with the Local Registrar of the county where the marriage license was issued. The Local Registrar records the marriage and mails a certified copy of the certificate to you at the address you entered on your application form.
- Certified Copy of Marriage Certificate
To obtain a certified copy of your marriage certificate you will need to contact the County in which you applied for your marriage license.
- Fee for a certified copy of marriage certificate: $9.00
See Registrar's Fees - Per Minnesota Statutes Section 508.82
- $46.00 for a document transferring a certificate
- $46.00 entry of memorial, $20.00 for multiple certificate entries thereafter
- $56.00 for Plat
- $50.00 well certificate
- $40.00 residue certificate
- Exchange certificates $20.00 for each certificate canceled and $20.00 for each new certificate issued.
- $50.00 condition of title
- $10.00 for certified copies - flat fee
See County Recorder Fees - Per Minnesota Statutes Section 357.18
- $46.00 for recording
- $46.00 for multiple Satisfactions/Assignments/Partial Releases with 4 document citations or less, and $10.00 additional for each document cited over first 4
- $50.00 for well certificate
- $56.00 for Plat
- $10.00 for certified copies - flat fee
- $2.00 for a non-certified copy of any document submitted for recording, if the original document is accompanied by a copy or duplicate.
- Isanti County does not collect a conservation fee.