« Back to Search Results
Resource Icon
Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines

November 12, 2013

Category: Attorney


The Minnesota Sentencing Guidelines Commission is comprised of 11 members. As stated in Minn. Stat. § 244.09 subd. 2, these members must include the following:

  • the Chief Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court or a designee
  • a Judge from the Minnesota Court of Appeals
  • a District Court Judge
  • a Public Defender
  • a County Attorney
  • the Commissioner of Corrections or a designee
  • a Peace Officer
  • a Probation or Parole Officer
  • three members from the general public, one of whom must be the victim of a felony crime

The three Commission members from the Judiciary are appointed to four year terms by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. The remaining members are appointed by the Governor to four year terms that coincide with the Governor's term in office. The Governor is also responsible for designating a Commission member as the Chair of the Commission.